Interview with David Whiteley | Presenter, BBC ‘Inside Out’

inside_out_logo

David Whiteley is the presenter of BBC’s current affairs programme Inside Out EastHe has also worked as a radio presenter, and kindly sat down with me for ten minutes to chat about his career.

What is it about television that attracted you to the industry in the first place?

I kind of stumbled into TV as I was really enjoying working at BBC Essex as a newsreader. I started out in radio at 18, working at the now, long gone, Essex Radio Group in Southend.

Tell us a bit about how you got involved with Inside Out.

I first got involved with Inside Out as the presenter of the programme in February 2003. It’s been the most amazing ten years. I am in a very privileged position to meet so many incredible people! I am also a producer on the programme and Series Director. So the job is an all year round one, even when we’re not on-air.

How do you balance your roles on the programme?

I would say that being disciplined with my time is key. I spend most of the summer producing my films, before I’m required by other producers to present their films. It is a juggling act, but it is in most professions. I also fit in presenting BBC Look East from time to time.

David (middle) filming on location.

David (middle) filming on location.

The stories on Inside Out are very diverse. How do you go about choosing them?

We’re very fortunate to have a loyal audience base and many people email and tweet us with story ideas. We also have get togethers as a team to decide what we should be looking at.

How does presenting television differ from your radio work?

The TV work I do is more structured but the radio is far more ad-lib and spontaneous.

How have you seen the industry change over time?

The industry has changed massively in the 18 years I’ve worked in the media. In TV, production crews have been reduced in size.

imgp2238

What projects are you working on at the moment?

All kinds! But I can’t give away our stories for next year!

Do you have advice for any budding television presenters?

Get your foot in a door, any door, with the media and don’t give up!

Thanks David!

Click to follow David on Twitter.

One thought on “Interview with David Whiteley | Presenter, BBC ‘Inside Out’

Leave a Reply

